Atticus Chess


Liverpool European Capital of Culture 2008

Dedicated to the 'Spirit of Atticus'







This website is independent of any association, club or chess organisation and does not accept responsibility for the content of other sites to which it links.


Atticus - Photo Archive



Gary, remember this from 1982?


larger version



Success for Atticus in 1977


(left to right foreground): Dave Robertson, Dave James, John Ripley, Sheila Jackson.

(middle): Pete MacKrell (half-hidden), Jim Cassin, Mike Price, John Carleton

(back): Martin Burbidge, Tom Bimpson, Howard Sleeman and Bernie Osterberg.                                 larger version






Visionaries and freshman in 1966 - with thanks to Dave Robertson 




Trophies and prizes in the Liverpool and District Chess League, which embraces chess clubs from the Liverpool, Southport, Chester, South West Lancashire and Wirral, were presented by Mr. Arthur Roche, president and captain of Wallasey Chess Club, during the annual general meeting held at Police Headquarters, Hardman Street, Liverpool. In the picture (left to right) are: Mr. Peter Crook of Skelmersdale Chess Club (the open winner); Mr. Donald Levin, of the Giro Chess Club (fifth division trophy); Mr. Alec Boswell, of Liverpool Chess Club (open runner-up); the president Mr. Leonard Ainsworth, of Chester Chess Club, first division champions, who received the Silver Rook Trophy; Mr. Geoff Hall, of Kirkdale Chess Club (second division champions); and Mr. Dave Robertson, also of the Kirkdale Chess Club, who won the Knockout Cup. (Liverpool Echo 1973)


Photo provided by Stephen Connor





























 © SC  


Copyright ©  Atticus Chess

back to top ^^